“I’M SORRY”

tumblr_static_i_m_sorryThose may be the two most difficult words to say in the english language. Or any language, really.

Although you probably say it everyday, squealing it when you step on someone’s foot on the bus, or mumbling it when you accidentally elbow your brother in the ribs.

I’m not talking about that, I’m talking about when it really matters,

Because I’m sorry doesn’t just mean: “I’m sorry”.

It means

“Don’t be mad at me”

“I don’t know what I did but I don’t care”

“Lets be friends”

“Lets go back to the way things were before”

“Lets talk again”

“I miss speaking to you”

“I don’t want to lose you”

The words “I’m sorry” are so hard to say because for once you have to swallow your pride no matter how sticky and bitter it is in your throat, and if someone were to ask you if you did anything wrong the answer would be no. You don’t care about that because you’re sick of all the “he said she said”s and accusing and blaming.

Or maybe you’re sick of the silence, because even spraying insults in your face would be better than not saying a word to each other at all.

Because whether you say sorry or not is life or death- the relationship is hanging by a string on the edge of the highest cliff in the world and the only way you can save it is to say the two words you never thought would leave your lips when it all begun.

Saying sorry doesn’t come easy, it doesn’t come simple. It says a lot to the other person but more importantly it says a lot about you. It’s putting someone else before yourself, it’s admitting what you did was wrong. It’s saying “Okay, you come before my pride” and “you’re more important than that”. It’s a thousand words fit into two.


I’M SORRY THIS IS SO BAD ITS 2:45 IN THE MORNING SOME PEOPLE ARE GOOD AT WRITING AT THIS TIME I AM MOST DEFINITELY NOT. I’M SO GOING TO REGRET THIS IN A FEW DAYS. ADIOS

6 thoughts on ““I’M SORRY”

Leave a Reply

