THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN RAIN AND SHINE

Ville

I like the rain. I like morning rain, evening rain, night rain. I like walking under it with an umbrella, because there’s a mini waterfall everywhere you look but you’re in your own little safe haven. I like walking in it, no shelter at all, feeling the raindrops on my head and thinking that in all of eternity that exact raindrop will never land on anyone else. I like sunshowers, when the sky is cornflower and I can see rays of light streaking my skin but still feel the speckles of water on my palm. I like rainstorms and grey skies and looming clouds, the feeling of the world slowly closing in. I like the sound of rain when it first begins, the gentle patter of water against windows and pavements-but each drop holding the anticipation of more. I like the crackle of thunder rippling through the Earth all around me, a natural surround sound. I like the way rain rustles the trees, each branch, each twig, dancing and swaying in its wake. I really, really like the rain.

I like the shine. I like summer shine, winter shine, spring shine, fall shine. I like lying on the floor of my living room, windows open, and feeling the golden rays of light tattoo my skin. I like walking to school, tilting my face up and letting the sun pour over me. I like the way it looks against the sea- a sprinkle of stardust skimming turqouise waters. I like waking up on a Monday morning, expecting the weather to be a reflection of my mood- sluggish and torpid and grey grey grey, then seeing the buttery slather of light through cracks in the doors, cracks in the curtains. I like when the air is cold, the trees bare and haunting- but the sun washing over it is anything but. I like when the air is hot. I like my drink condensing, my ice cream melting, the warm plastic of my chips bag crinkling on my fingertips. I like walking barefoot on concrete and having to tip toe the whole way. I like the sun reflecting off crumpled, toasted red leaves in the autumn. I love that it nourishes blooming flowers in the spring. I really, really like the shine.


 

I HONESTLY THOUGHT IT COULDN’T GET ANY WORSE THAN THE “I’M SORRY” POST. NOW I’M SORRY. FOR PROBABLY MAKING YOU THINK A 9 YEAR OLD RUNS THIS BLOG. SPENT A HOT MINUTE ON THIS THOUGH EVEN THO IT SEEMS LIKE I SPENT 2 SECONDS. SO POSTING IT ANYWAY

5 thoughts on “THE DIFFERENCE BETWEEN RAIN AND SHINE

  1. wow this is like a love letter . I really like this and I love the descriptions and metaphors . I love rain too , I find such peace in it , and i love the beginning of rain too . beautiful poat . you’re a great writer 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

